The Rose Bud

image

On one fine dewy dawn, with your hood on
Hushing and hiding you knocked my door
Searching for the perfect gift for your valentine
You had reasons to celebrate
exactly a year ago, your friendship turned into love
I was a few days old, a foliage turned into a bud
Your love & I, at the similar stage in life
Blessed, Happy & Optimistic

I remember when you offered me to her, she blushed
Do you remember how her cheeks matched my color?

As the days passed by
Your love started fading
And so did I!

This misty morning, she sees me old and withered
She tells me how she loved you with all her heart
But maybe, things were meant to fall apart
Maybe you two were meant only to be called friends
Maybe I was meant to bloom and stay on the plant

It is now too late to go back
Your love & I, at the similar stage in life, yet again
Old, forgotten and a thing of the past.

 

Sketch by : Abarna Sindhu

2 thoughts on “The Rose Bud

Leave a Reply

